• MailChimp Widget


SXSW 2012: Festival winners announced

Rachel Fox

March 14th, 2012

Grand Jury Feature winner, GIMME THE LOOT

Jury and Audience Award-winners of the South by Southwest (SXSW) Film Conference and Festival were announced tonight at the Festival’s Awards Ceremony, presented by Veam and hosted by comedian and actor Doug Benson. The Awards took place at the Vimeo Theater in Austin, Texas.

“It’s been amazing this year to hear over and over again about the high range of quality across the board,” said Janet Pierson, Film Conference and Festival Producer. “I know I’m always going on about the great variety of our program, but this year it seems to have been embraced in even wider measure and it’s very exciting. SXSW is a special moment for the creative community to both inspire and be inspired. We appreciate the audience and jury engagement and recognition for these highlighted titles.”

Audience Award for Narrative Feature winner, EDEN

This year SXSW hosted a total of 132 features including 74 World Premieres, 17 North American Premieres and 11 U.S. Premieres, with 58 films from first-time directors. 138 shorts will screen as part of 12 overall shorts programs.  The nearly 275 films were selected from a record number of overall submissions, over 5,300, comprised of approximately 2,000 features and 3,300 shorts. This was a 7% increase over 2011 despite moving submission deadlines a month earlier than in previous years.

The film festival at SXSW is an official qualifying festival for the Academy Awards Short Film competition. In addition, the Best Narrative Short and Best Animated Short winners become eligible for the Academy Awards.

Documentary Feature Grand Jury winner, BEWARE OF MR BAKER

The 2012 SXSW Film Festival Award Winners:

Feature Film Jury Awards

Documentary Feature Competition
Grand Jury Winner: BEWARE OF MR. BAKER
Director: Jay Bulger

Narrative Feature Competition
Grand Jury Winner: GIMME THE LOOT
Director: Adam Leon

Special Jury Recognition for Performance:
Jamie Chung – EDEN
Besedka Johnson – STARLET
Nico Stone – BOOSTER

Feature Film Audience Awards

Documentary Feature
Director: Annie Eastman

Narrative Feature
Winner: EDEN
Director: Megan Griffiths

*Audience Awards for Narrative Spotlight, Documentary Spotlight, Emerging Visions, Midnighters, 24 Beats Per Second, SXGlobal and Festival Favorites sections will be announced on Saturday, March 17. The Headliner Audience Award will follow on Monday, March 19, 2012.

Short Film Jury Awards

Narrative Shorts
Director: Grainger David

Documentary Shorts
Winner: CATCAM
Director: Seth Keal

Midnight Shorts
Directors: Rebecca Sloan & Joseph Pelling

SXGlobal Shorts
Director: Tali Yankelevich

Animated Shorts
Director: Danny Madden

Music Videos
Winner: Battles, "My Machines"
Director: DANIELS

Texas Shorts
Winner: SPARK
Director: Annie Silverstein

Texas High School Shorts
Winner: BOOM
Director: Daniel Matyas & Brian Broder

SXSW Film Design Awards presented by iStockphoto

Excellence in Poster Design
Winner: MAN & GUN
Designer: Justin Cox

Special Jury Recognition: PITCH BLACK HEIST
Designer: Andrew Cranston

Audience Award Winner: THE MAKER
Designer: Christopher Kezelos

Excellence in Title Design
Designer: Jay Bond, Oily Film Company Inc.

Special Jury Recognition: X-MEN: FIRST CLASS
Designer: Simon Clowes, Prologue Films

Audience Award Winner: BUNRAKU
Designer: Guilherme Marcondes, Hornet Inc.

SXSW Special Awards

SXSW Wholphin Award
Director: Benny Safdie & Josh Safdie

SXSW Chicken & Egg Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award
Winners: Megan Griffiths for Eden and Amy Seimetz for SUN DON'T SHINE

Louis Black "Lone Star" Award
Winner: BERNIE
Director: Richard Linklater

Special Jury Recognition: TRASH DANCE
Director: Andrew Garrison

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship
Presented to: Lindsay Utz

The 2012 SXSW Film Festival Juries consisted of:

Narrative Feature Competition: Lisa Hintelmann, J. Hoberman, Jane Schoettle
Documentary Feature Competition: David Courier, Philipp Engelhorn, Catherine Shoard
Narrative Shorts: Susan Arosteguy, Mark Elijah Rosenberg, Thuy Tran
Documentary Shorts: Anna Higgs, Gerald Peary, Basil Tsiokos
SXGlobal Shorts: Margaret Brown, Chale Nafus, Linda O. Olszewski
Animated Shorts: Brad Graeber, Brad Phillips, Bryan Pudder
Midnight Shorts: Nate Bolotin, Tim League, Ti West
Music Videos: Jim Eno, John T. Kunz, Mark Woollen
Texas Shorts: Karim Ahmad, Jennifer Cochis, Anderson Le
Texas High School Shorts: Marcy Garriott, Emily Hagins, Bart Weiss
Title Sequence Design: Ian Albinson, Jenny Lee, Ben Radatz, Gareth Smith, Kurt Volk
Poster Design: Craig Crutchfield, Tim League, James Leal-Valias, Charlie Loft, Danny Parker
Louis Black “Lone Star”: Elizabeth Avellán, Christy Lemire, Ron Mann

Source SXSW

Commenting Rules: Comments are intended to open up the discussion to our readers about the topics at hand, and as such should be offered with a positive and constructive attitude. If your comment is not relative to the above post or is disrespectful to the authors and readers, we reserve the right to delete it. Continued abuse of our good nature will result in banishment of the offender. Additionally, if you have any burning issues to point out to the GATW crew - typos, corrections, suggestions, or straight-up criticism - please email us instead of commenting here.

  • Recent Post