• MailChimp Widget


The Academy invites Jesse Eisenberg, Jennifer Lawrence, and 176 more to join its elite ranks

Julian Stark

by: Julian Stark
June 17th, 2011

The Academy announces its invitees for 2011

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is the most prestigious alliance of individuals working within the world of film. Every year, invitations are sent out to actors, animators, cinematographers, and various craftspeople in the film industry, and the Academy has announced this year’s invitees.

In the actors branch, invitees include nominees Jesse Eisenberg (THE SOCIAL NETWORK), John Hawkes (WINTER’S BONE), Jennifer Lawrence (WINTER’S BONE), Ellen Page (JUNO), and Jacki Weaver (ANIMAL KINGDOM). Also in the mix are Robbie Coltrane (MONA LISA), Jennifer Garner (JUNO), and Beyoncé Knowles (DREAMGIRLS).

The entire list, which can be seen on the press release over at Deadline Hollywood, names “178 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures.” There was the potential for 211 new invitees this year, but there wasn’t as much interest in particular candidates for membership as there were in other years. However, the Academy still seems to be making some more daring and exciting choices with its invitation list.

Commenting Rules: Comments are intended to open up the discussion to our readers about the topics at hand, and as such should be offered with a positive and constructive attitude. If your comment is not relative to the above post or is disrespectful to the authors and readers, we reserve the right to delete it. Continued abuse of our good nature will result in banishment of the offender. Additionally, if you have any burning issues to point out to the GATW crew - typos, corrections, suggestions, or straight-up criticism - please email us instead of commenting here.

  • Recent Post